“Kuroshitsuji” review

29 Dec

Anime series: “Kuroshitsuji,” or “Black Butler.”
Genre: A bit of mystery, comedy, action all in one
Episodes: 24 (completed)
Synopsis: In a manor house on the outskirts of Victorian London, butler Sebastian Michaelis serves Ciel Phantomhive, the 12-year-old head of an English noble family.  He carries out any task required by his master with ease & perfection, because of his secret demonic lineage and Faustian contract with his master.
Opinion: 4 out of 5 stars

My personal review of the series (may contain a bit of a spoiler, but I won’t give the ending away) :  I really liked this series visually.  Since the setting is during the Victorian era, Ciel Phantomhive can be usually seen adorned in that gothic lolita outfit that I grew to love over the years of me being an Otaku.  The artwork of the series is great, and the scenic desigsn don’t disappoint.
I figured that the plot and the characters were sort of standard.  Ciel Phantomhive is being served by a demon butler, so naturally whatever Ciel wants, Ciel gets.  There are a few surprising twists that I wasn’t expecting, but the comedic relief characters tended to get old and sort of irritating to me (although they do have their own secrets!)  I recommend the series if you want to see a sort of darker anime series, but aren’t a huge fan of dark anime series.  I don’t recommend this series if you love lighter animes, want to laugh a lot, or need some super-gory scenes to make you happy.  This anime series keeps a good balance between edgy dark and light-heartedness.  If you don’t know where to stream the anime, leave a comment and I’ll post a good website.

2 Responses to ““Kuroshitsuji” review”

  1. Dominic Connley 01/06/2010 at 17:31 #

    Outstanding writing. I appreciate you posting that. Please accept my apology for my less good English talking, I am from France and it is sort of new to me.

  2. Janina Dahlin 01/25/2010 at 02:07 #

    I think I first came across your blog via a link on Twitter.. I love the way you write and I am going to subscribe to read more when I can. Oh yeah, are you on Twitter yet?

Leave a Reply

