All’s Well That Ends Well

10 Feb

This is it.  I got into nursing school, albeit not a great one.  Indiana  University of Pennsylvania.  And to think that I decided to apply to this school at the very last minute and it became my saving grace.  This takes off of close to half of the stress a normal college student might come across, but of course, I have to continually push myself in hopes to get accepted to more colleges.  My drive to get the impossible A’s in my three science classes is crazy and wishful thinking, but it is the self-satisfaction I really want.

Honestly, realizing that I got accepted into a nursing school is scary.  I am only two years away from taking a test that will make or break my career, and after that, I will be thrown into a hospital where sick and vulnerable patients depend on the doctors and me to heal them.  I am barely piecing together my own life; what makes people think that I will be ready to save other people’s lives in two years?  What gives me the right to touch people’s lives in ways I never cared for, to see their families and friends at the lowest point in their lives, and to know intimately strangers that I will never see again?

Going to a new university will tear me apart from my friends, and I’ve never been good at keeping in contact with people.  Yes, with Facebook it is so much easier to drop a quick hello, but when I already have eggshell relationships with people here, how would I be able to strengthen them in an entirely different state? And by the time I get adjusted to the new school, I will be graduating with a feeling of detachment to the school where I got my degree.  I hate to admit it, but even with the rough and lonely first semester at University of Maryland, I’ve learned all the secret tunnels and the small quirks that makes UMD unique.  It went from a university I could not wait to get out of to one that I molded myself into.  Realizing that this is the last semester I will run across campus in my tights and heels against the cold weather does make me feel a bit sad.  Despite all the all-nighters I’ve pulled, the ignorance of many a student, and no strong ties to the university, there is an invisible compulsion that makes me love this crazy school.  And hey, I might even be getting my own radio station here; how crazy is that?  Please guys, be careful with life-changing decisions.  You may come to regret it later!

Leave a Reply

