Romance on V-Day

11 Feb

There’s this love-hate relationship about Valentine’s Day.  I have so many friends who will swear from the moon and back how much they abhor a day of commercialized romance, including my sister (pictured here), who used to once love it.  Forgive me for reminiscing, but there were those years where my sister and I went so OCD over little Valentine goodie bags, placing specific candies strategically in them, writing short and cute love notes, and arranging the bags perfectly for presentation to our friends.  Now of course, as she gets older, she jumps on the bandwagon to hate everything mainstream, which includes Valentine’s Day, thus bringing me to my rant.

I can understand how people can hate on Valentine’s Day.  What I don’t get is why people insist on hating the holiday, but continue to be a part of it every year.  If you hate Valentines Day, or any other gift-giving-holiday (read: Christmas), then just simply don’t be a part of it!  My roommate cannot make it more clear to me how much she hates Valentine’s Day, and yet she has given me a candygram and I spy a Valentine’s-themed cake mix and heart-shaped cupcake molds in her closet.  What I’m trying to figure out is why is it so hard to accept holidays for what they are? Nobody’s forcing anyone to actually buy something on Valentine’s Day, and if your significant other demands it, then you might want to reconsider your relationship.  It’s just as easy to show how much you love them with an inexpensive, at-home, dinner-and-movie night.

As a self-declared single, I cannot hate this holiday.  For one, hearts are cute and simple.  But maybe I do secretly like seeing people having a reason to show love or kindness to someone in their lives…and maybe I wistfully hope for something special to happen to me during these holidays.  Hey, a girl can dream.

I sincerely hope that when you approach Valentine’s Day, that you should embrace it for what it could potentially be–an ordinary day to show that you care for your extraordinary friends and significant other.

Leave a Reply

